Car Accidents Suck

Funny but I hardly ever drive to work. I normally slug. Thursday I drove in because I took Molly to daycare. I was two blocks away from work, and some careless prick decided to do a u-turn without looking in the lane next to him. I happened to be in the lane next to him, and he hit my front right side. I didn’t even see it coming, and when my car stopped spinning, I burst into tears. This guy gets out of his car, and runs over asking if I am ok. He tells me he is calling 9-1-1. I told him I was ok, just shook up really. Just the cops, but no medical. Now he is on the phone with his lawyer. I’m trying to move my car to the side of the road since it is blocking both northbound lanes, but it won’t move. It’s pretty darn screwed really. His car won’t move either, so I let him and the witness direct traffic while I try and call my husband who is in Seattle on business for the week. The cops finally show up, and we do the routine reports while the towing company rounds the corner to take our smashed up vehicles away.

Once our cars were loaded on the flat bed, I got the paperwork I needed from the cop. He informed me that old boy was getting cited for a few things to include illegal u-turn, and I may need to go to court to testify. Great. Another day wasted.

I walked down Crystal Drive heading towards my building realizing that the next six hours were really going to suck. When I got there, I told my boss that I needed to go to the ER. Once the adrenaline wore off, I realized my entire right side was starting to ache and throb. First, I had to get the claim process started, and find out about a rental. The guy’s insurance company reacted really quickly, and I was in a Toyota Highlander before I knew it. Next up, the ER. I got to hang out there for about four hours. They wanted to run all kinds of x-rays and what not to make sure I was okay. I kept telling them I just needed a prescription for some Flexeril. The doctor finally agreed it was just tense muscles, and gave me my piece of paper along with a pill for the road. I had about an hour or so to make it home before I knew it would kick in. Off I went to pick up Molly before 7pm.

I was very pleased when I arrived and got a good report for her day. She’d been there about nine hours, and played nice with all the other dogs. No riots this time, so she won’t be banned just yet.

Once I got home, I was out for the night in about an hour and a half, which was actually great because I don’t sleep well without TheBoy there.

One Response to “Car Accidents Suck”

  1. Oh shit. I’m really sorry to hear about your accident but glad you weren’t badly hurt.

    And you’re back online! You were gone so long I thought you had stopped blogging. And I only just rediscovered you when I saw the DC Blogs live feed today. So I’ll add you back on to my blogroll. Yippee!

Leave a comment